CFP- University of Georgia 2014 Sport Business Symposium

by C. H. Wilson, Jr. on December 3, 2013

University of Georgia Sport Business Symposium Call for Papers

Athens, GA

February 25, 2014


In an effort to bring together sport industry leaders, academicians, scholars, and students, establish a meaningful forum to discuss critical issues in the sport industry, and most importantly, serve undergraduate and graduate students in sport management programs, the University of Georgia (UGA) is launching an annual symposium in spring 2014. A list of industry leaders have confirmed their attendance and participation in the 2014 event (e.g., Bo Heiner – Octagon, Mark Slonaker – The Georgia Bulldog Club, Heather Ould – Collegiate Consulting, Gary Stokan – Chick-fil-A Bowl, Ben May – SEC Network, Jim McPhilliamy – Charlotte Hounds, Dan Courtemanche – Major League Soccer, Gus Eureton – Atlanta Braves, Krista Massey – SunTrust Bank, Kristi Smith – AIM Marketing Solutions, Will Blair – Turner Sports, Greg Barkoff – CSS Sports, JW Cannon – UPS, Chris Eames – ESPN, and Arthur Triche – 92.9 The Fan).


The Symposium Organizing Committee and the International Centre for Sports Management (ICSM) at UGA invite academicians, scholars, practitioners, and students to submit abstracts to the first annual UGA Sport Business Symposium for poster presentations. Undergraduate and graduate students are encouraged to participate in a student research competition. Abstracts may be derived from completed or on-going scholarly or practical inquiries, and the topics, contents, and schemes of inquiry are flexible and inclusive (e.g., empirical, methodological, conceptual, experiential, practical, interpretive).


Conference Details: The Symposium will take place in the University of Georgia Conference Center (i.e., the Georgia Center: located in Athens, GA on February 25, 2014. Poster presentations and student research competitions will be held in the morning with the panel discussions in the afternoon and evening. Guests are encouraged to arrive one day earlier for professional networking and a guided tour of the university campus. Courtesy transportations to and from the Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport are provided.


Submission Guidelines:  Abstract submissions for poster presentations will be accepted from December 10, 2013 to January 25, 2014. Each prospective presenter is limited to two presentations, either as the primary presenter or a co-presenter. All submitted abstracts will go through a blind-review process conducted by a review committee appointed by the ICSM.


Abstracts must be emailed to Dr. Becca Leopkey at by the closing date of January 25, 2014 (11:59 p.m. EST). Please state “UGA Sport Business Symposium Abstract” in the subject line of the email. An abstract(s) submission indicates the intent of the presenter(s) to attend the inaugural UGA Sport Business Symposium in Athens, GA on February 25, 2014.


Abstracts must include the following information and conform to the following requirements:   

1.      The length of the abstract is up to one page maximum (8.5 x 11 inch paper with 1-inch margins) using a 12-point Times New Roman font;

2.      Referencing should follow an APA format;

3.      Abstract should include text only. Figures and tables are not acceptable;

4.      Presentation title, author(s), and institution(s) name(s) must be provided along with primary author’s contact information;

5.      Clearly indicate if you are a graduate or undergraduate student so that you can be considered for the student research competition.


Student Research Competition: Prizes for best undergraduate and graduate student poster presentations will be awarded. Students who wish to be considered for the awards must indicate their degree program level (i.e., undergraduate student vs. graduate student) on the poster abstract. In order to be considered for the awards, students must be the primary author(s) of the presentation. A review committee from the ICSM will decide on the winners of the student research awards. The awards will be presented to the student winners at the closing ceremony of the symposium.

Academic Program Chair

Dr. Becca Leopkey (


Conference Chair

Dr. James J. Zhang (

Previous post:

Next post: